*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

July 16, 2004 - 5:25 pm

So, how you been?

I am ashamed to admit that it has been over two months since I last updated (no, not including the short taster from earlier this afternoon, I can count). It always happens � every time I renew my gold membership and install the lemons proudly on my page � I disappear off the face of the Earth for months.

Except I haven�t really gone anywhere � I have been here all along! HA HA HA HA HA ha ha ha ha ha hahaha ha he he heh..ahem.

Where�s �here� you ask? Here is at my new desk, in East London, on the fringes of the city, right by the famous Brick Lane and with a full uninterrupted view of the �gherkin�, woo.

It is very groovy working here � the office is full of young and trendy types and everyone wear�s jeans and trainers (there�s even some sandals�) and mooches about smoking (only in the designated areas mind, wouldn�t want to be discriminating against non-smokers) and discussing politics in a �on-the-fence� kind of way. There are even drug dealers across the road, very hip.

My new job is frenzied and hectic and impossible. I work for seven managers and do twenty five things at once. There isn�t a moment in the day when I am not busy. I absolutely love it. If I am not dashing off to a meeting in Stockwell, I am legging it around Wimbledon at midnight trying to find drug-user who needs to go into a hostel, or if I am not on my way to a hostel to sort out their email problems I am organising an event for 80 people in central London with a famous MP speaker. And more often not I will be doing all these things on the same day.

I still drink as much wine as before, but now I feel I earn it.

Mr D and I have now been married for coming up to eight months. How the hell did that happen? Wasn�t it December a second ago?

Twenty interesting things that have happened to me in the last two months:

:: I went on two street rescue shifts in London � legging it around the least desirable locations in the city trying to find rough sleepers who had been referred to us for hostel accommodation. We found one too � imagine that! One person to find in the whole of London (huge big fek-off city full of zillions of people) and we find him. The best bit was his face when we arrived at the hostel, talk about a moment.

:: The guy I went on the shifts with was so fascinating. I probably bored the hell out of him with all my questions but the guy leads such an interesting life. And that counts as interesting because sometime you just know you met someone�good, don�t you?

:: I booked a holiday � one week in Cornwall. One week camping in Cornwall to be precise, in my mum and dad�s old four bed frame tent from the 1970s. And this tent didn�t escape the bad taste of the era either, oh no, the thing is bright orange and brown with a false plastic window that has paisley pattern curtains. We�re kind of hoping that the people of Cornwall will think we�re cool and retro, rather than visitors from the 1970s arriving in a tent-shaped time-travelling tardis.

:: I started my new job � hurrah!

:: I bought TWO pairs of girly shoes. Both with heels, both feminine, neither of them boots or trainers.

:: I bought a raffle ticket in a pub and got a mini box of matches in return. Reeeeally mini � enough for lighting one cigarette then POOF! Burnt fingers!

:: I had a necklace made that says �Ali� a la Carrie from Sex in the City.

:: I wore my hair *gasp* in a side parting.

:: I attended one wedding and cried during the first dance.

:: I attended one hen night and cried on the way home because I was pissed.

:: I attended one hair trial for when I am a bridesmaid in September and my hair looked fabulous and I can�t wait � eee!

:: I met someone called Cedric ( I thought it was a made up name in The Racoons!)

:: I re-discovered corned beef sandwiches.

:: I read Notes on a Scandal. It stayed with me, I recommend you read it too.

:: I wore a skirt at least ten times.

:: I stopped caring so much about what people think.

:: I learnt four witchy spells and performed three.

:: I bought a mysterious item called a �hair twister� but can�t work out how to use it.

:: I sat in the front of a black cab (except it was white).

Is that twenty? Well if it�s not it�ll do.

Your turn, what you been doing?

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com