*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

April 07, 2004 - 12:06 pm

DVLA

Good Lord work can become boring once you hand your notice in! My motivation to do anything has gone out of the window with my ability to get in on time.

So this week in married life Mr D and I have been learning how hard it is to change one�s name. Well, I have been learning as Mr D doesn�t have to change his of course.

To change the name on my driving licence I need to do the following:

1. Visit 25 different post-offices in London and the home counties to find a branch that actually stocks Form D1 so I can fill out my new details.

2. Fill out the two page Form D1 with all the details the DVLA already have logged on their computers changing only one word � my surname.

3. Have a small nervous breakdown trying to decipher Form D1 (also known as Bastard Idiot Form Designed By Sadistic Arseholes) and wish that I had a degree in advanced mathematics or engineering.

4. Get a new passport photo, in colour (underlined) NOT black and white, heaven forbid *crosses self and murmurs prayer*

5. Include original passport and original wedding licence � photocopies will simply not do of course as this would be far too simple and convenient and easier on the nerves.

5. Refer to leaflet INS115 for information on fees and charges only to discover that not one of the FOUR forms I have picked up from the post office come with leaflet INS115.

6. Call DVLA and spend ten minutes holding in order to speak to an operator who can tell me how much money I have to send them.

7. Include cheque for �19 to pay for replacement �counterpart� whatever that is. Apparently this came with my original photocard licence seven years ago though, it being SEVEN YEARS ago, I don�t remember where I have put it.

8. Purchase two registered post envelopes to ensure the safe delivery and return of my marriage certificate, passport and new licence.

9. Finally, include my original photocard driving licence thus leaving me without any form of photo ID for the next three-six months whilst the DVLA lose all my documents and no doubt return my Form D �bastard� 1 to me as I have made an error in section 6a that needs to be corrected and countersigned by a Doctor or Lawyer who has known me since birth.

10. Turn to drugs and alcohol.

It�s a tough world out there people. A tough world.

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com