*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

January 09, 2005 - 10:47 am

West Ham v Norwich

The weekend so far:

Friday night we got an unexpected invitation to Si, Lang and Tony�s place for a nice sensible adult dinner and a few drinks. This quickly turned into dinner, a food fight with carrots, and staying up until 3am drinking all the booze in the house before passing out on their sofa and waking up the next morning feeling royally minging. A very good night indeed.

Si bailed out not long after midnight and Mr D and Lang sat in the kitchen putting the universe to rights whilst Tony and I lounged about looking at this artwork in the living room and chatting, which was nice because I feel I got to know him a lot better.

After recovering from the hangover on Saturday morning we headed home to get showered and changed before making the journey down to Upton Park for my first EVER football match. West Ham v Norwich FC. Mr D is a huge Norwich FC fan, he grew up in Norfolk, and I have always wanted to go to a match so when an away match came up at Upton Park, which is just down the road, we got tickets straight away.

The whole experience, beginning to very end, was just incredible! I have never had so much fun (well actually I have but I�m being gushing). We thronged along in the crowds from the tube, walked down Green Street, got a dodgey burger and pushed through the turnstiles into the ground, where we had to fight our way through the melee to get to our side of the stadium. We had a quick beer (in a plastic cup of course..) then it was up the stairs to our seats. So exciting seeing a football pitch like that for the first time, it looked smaller than I imagined, then we found our seats next to two people from Norwich who had bought sandwiches with them and start chatting to us as soon as we arrived. Then out came the players (I never realised just how sexy these guys are, wow) and off the game went. My heart was thumping and I was a wreck every time West Ham got near the goal, I was standing up and shouting involuntarily, I had no control over my own voicebox or legs, I was possessed by a shouting neanderthal. By half time I was carefully reading the programme whilst Mr D battled his way to the bar.

We lost 1-0. By full time I was looking at the fixtures lists and trying to work out when we could make it to Carrow Road for a home game, a total and utter convert to the beautiful game. The Norwich FC goalkeeper did nothing to diminish my enthusiasm�.
Mmmmmm�.

After the game we met up with a guy I work with who is a Norwich fan, and his friends from the London supporters club, we had many drinks and went for a curry. It was great to chat to entirely new faces in an entirely new environment. And we managed to catch last orders in Ilford with Lang, Si and Tony. The perfect end to a perfect day.

Today we�re off to Woking to visit Mr D�s brother for his birthday. But for now I shall be mainly looking at Sky Sports on the internet�who would have thought it.

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com