*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

January 04, 2005 - 9:40 pm

Happy New Year

Stolen without shame from Sezzy.

What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?
Climbed a very high wall whilst attached by rope to Fairy. Cast a spell. Started to knit a hat (only managed scarves before.) Started a regular volunteering role helping the homeless in London. Took a paycut in order to follow a dream. Was horrible to my sister (and feel terrible.) Visited New York. Celebrated a first year wedding anniversary. Made chicken and lentil soup.

Did you keep your New Years' Resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
One of my resolutions in for last year was to do a wall climbing course! So I kept one. All the rest (lose weight, get fit, stop drinking, become a clever person�) were over before you could say January�

Did anyone close to you give birth?

Um�nope.

Did anyone close to you die?

Thankfully not very close to me. But too close to home.

What countries did you visit?

God, I can�t even remember! Scotland and Cornwall don�t count as countries�well ok not countries that you have to cross water to get to. Unless you live somewhere other than England that is�anyway�we went to New York�and Scotland and Cornwall, as I mentioned�

What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

Confidence. Toned arms. More cash and less debt. A smaller bum.

What dates from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

27th November - the day I first saw the New York skyline for real.
29th November � dinner in SoHo with my husband of ONE YEAR!
24th December � driving into my mum�s road in Kent and seeing all the lights on the houses and just breathing slowly out knowing that for the next three days I could relax and enjoy�

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting the job I always wanted in a company I wanted to work for. And my chicken and lentil soup!

What was your biggest failure?

My yellow split pea and vegetable soup. And my usual inability to stop worrying about EVERYTHING.

Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nope. Aside from the odd unexplained bruise following a night out and a cold here and there I survived 2004 pretty much unscathed.

What was the best thing you bought?
Risotto rice � wow, that stuff is great! And, even though I didn�t buy it, my atlas. Did you know Russia is the biggest country? I had NO idea.

Whose behavior merited celebration?

Mr D naturally. Puts up with me and brings me �sleepy milk� in bed. He also manages to keep things in perspective when I am wailing in grief about dropping an old Garfield mug or something equally ridiculous.

Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Mine. My incessant worrying. And being nasty to my sister at Christmas, which she didn�t deserve, I was just really full of PMT and �blah�I was yuck.

Where did most of your money go?

Bills bills bills, and wine.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Christmas, but that�s a whole year away now! Waaaah! So I will be excited about being thin, saving money, getting pregnant, swimming the Greek Cyclades and learning a new language. Oh and completing the course I am doing and getting my certificate.

What song will always remind you of 2004?

Be Mine by David Gray as it was Mr D and my first dance song and it was on our wedding video which we didn�t get until 2004 and have watched tons and tons.

Compared to this time last year, are you:

Happier or sadder? Happier.
Thinner or fatter? Fatter. But happier!
Richer or poorer? Poorer. God I am so much poorer. And so much fatter. Makes you wonder why I�m happier really�
.
What do you wish you'd done more of?

Um�.not much actually. Getting up early more often would have been good.

What do you wish you'd done less of?

Worrying. Eating chocolate. Drinking wine. Actually, scrub that, just less worrying, I enjoyed the other two.

Did you fall in love in 2004?
I fell in love with Mr D over and over again. That�s the great thing about being married, you have peaks and lulls. When you�re in a lull you just roll along happily. When you�re coming out of a lull you get to fall in love all over again. That�s what I think anyway, I may win awards for Soppy but I am not ashamed!

How many one-night stands?

None. But I had enough in my pre-married days to make up for it.

Favorite shows?

Charmed (we watch it when we catch it on Living because I love it and Mr D fancies Phoebe), The Swan (we watch this so we can laugh at the way they turn out in the end � like deformed Barbie dolls gone wrong), Everybody Loves Raymond (it�s on first thing in the morning), Sex in the City (girly girly!)�we watch too much telly.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Nah.

What was the best book you read?

The Red Tent. And every trashy novel I read in the bath because they each represent hours of relaxation soaking in Lush bubbles�mmm�

What was your greatest musical discovery?

The rediscovery of Michael Jackson before he got really weird.

What did you want and get?

GHD hair straighteners. Monkey slippers (didn�t realize I wanted them til I got them from Bee for Christmas!) My new job.

What did you want and not get?

A winning lottery ticket.

What was your favorite film of this year?

The Terminal.

What did you do on your birthday?

I went to a bar in Leicester Square, which was brilliant. But they turned it into an Italian restaurant, which is great obviously because, lets face it, Leicester Square was crying out for an Italian restaurant. Anyway where was I? Oh yeah, we went to this bar in Leicester Square and loads of my friends came and gave me pressies and I got drunk on red cocktail thingies.

What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Staying as slim as I was on my wedding day, but the two weeks on honeymoon put pay to that.

How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

Um�jeans and t-shirt shic with a smattering of dirty old beige boots.

What kept you sane?

Wine. Mr D. Fairy and Bee, my Mum. Sex and the City. Chicken and Lentil soup. Si, Lang, Callie. Most of all Mr D, who sucks out the insanity, incinerates it beyond recognition and replaces it with reasonable thought.

Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Ok�here it goes � my first public admission�the younger one off of Top Gear. Richard Hammond. Yes.

What political issue stirred you the most?

Yawn.

Who did you miss?

I miss Erica. It�s quieter without her. I miss all my friendlies all over the world who I haven�t seen or spoken to in ages and who I really should email far more often than I do.

Who was the best new person you met?

Several at my new place of work. Won�t go into it here though because it�s after 9pm and I don�t like to discuss work after 9pm. Ahem.

Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:
Do good and you will feel good. Do bad and you will feel bad.

Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

��every day feels so incomplete until you walk into the room�� David Gray.

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com