*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

November 07, 2004 - 9:59 am

Marriage is good for me

It feels like Christmas morning. I had chocolate for breakfast and I am watching the Wizard of Oz. All that�s missing is Terry Wogan on the radio and a glass of sherry.

Now I�m all excited about Christmas.

Is it just me or does the Wizard of Oz get more scary the older you get? I used to think it was a big colourful marvel when I was little, but now those ballet dancing munchkins and the flying monkeys seem really quite frightening. *shudder*

Mr D and I have been married nearly a year. Three weeks tomorrow in fact. I think we are both feeling that we are on some kind of homeward stretch at the moment. They say that the first year is the hardest so I think we�re kind of reaching the end of year one with a certain amount of relief. We�re both still here, we haven�t had any seriously major arguments (bar the time I stormed out of the flat and went to Clair�s for the afternoon after an argument about hoovering), we haven�t killed each other, hurt each other, had any affairs etc. We still go out all the time, we still plan things together and enjoy each other�s company, we still make each other laugh. So far so good.

Looking around over the last couple of days I can see the edges of our two previously separate lives are blurring slightly. The flat has become an extension of the two of us, so it�s hard to see where Mr D ends and I begin amongst the pictures and fridge magnets, the rows of DVDs and CDs, the gadgets and the toys, the furnishings and the ornaments.

Our individual hobbies and interests fit into our daily routine without problem. I enjoy my Sunday mornings and Tuesday evenings alone whilst Mr D plays football. He happily watches TV whilst I play with our website and behave like a computer nerd, or study, or make henna designs.

I wouldn�t change anything about married life so far. Marriage is hard work, it can be monotonous at times, it can be difficult, it can be slow, it is without the constant ups and downs and excitement of single life. But it offers a wonderful intimacy and friendship, certainty and hope for the future. You never have to contain all the love you have inside because you can let it all pour out all the time.

Yes, marriage is good for me.

�Oh I could tell you why, the ocean�s near the shore, I could think of things I�d never thought before, and then I�d sit and think some more��

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com