*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

October 10, 2004 - 9:33 pm

�We cannot do great things on this Earth. We can only do little things with great love.�

My top five romantic memories. In reverse order:

::5:: Aged 17. Standing outside my parents house after my fourth date with my first serious boyfriend. He was seven years older than me and had just walked me home. We had been out four times and he hadn�t once tried to kiss me yet. I was still na�ve in the way of men and even in my virginal state I was getting a little frustrated. So he had walked me home and said goodnight and walked away, and I shouted after him �Are you going to kiss me first?� and he turned around and stopped to look at me, then he started walking towards me and I started walking towards him�and we met and he looked at me and grinned and then just leant in and kissed me for the very first time. My God that feeling started at the tips of my toes and travelled at lightening speed all the way through my body to the roots of my hair. I was actually shaking. We kissed for an hour before he eventually went home. Mmmm.

::4:: Aged 19 (I think�maybe 20, the university years are a little hazy�) Outside the student union bar at midnight. A guy I had a couple of one night stands with, and who I briefly entertained thoughts of having feelings for before decided he was actually a self obsessed arsehole who thought he was God�s gift to women and football, and me having an argument about how he had been a complete tit about something-or-other (can�t remember what). I was sooo angry and he was pissing me off sooo much, one minute we�re arguing and the next we�re snogging like there�s no tomorrow. I can�t even remember what happened but there�s nothing quite like suddenly snogging someone you hate, especially if they happen to be drop dead gorgeous and have a fabulous bottom.

::3:: Aged 24. Sitting on a bench looking out across the river in Hammersmith waiting to meet the guy I was in love with for the very first time. Then seeing him come round the corner and it being all totally surreal and weird and me being dead pleased that I had funky new jeans and a hat (which I later lost in a kissing frenzy in the back of a cab�the hat, not the jeans.) And sitting drinking pints in a window seat and smoking and then kissing and lots more kissing, and cold pizza and Primrose Hill and all the sweet surreality of closing the distance of an ocean.

::2:: Aged 26. Surrounded by every single friend and family member I have, and all of Mr D�s too. Holding my Dad�s hand, walking along surrounded by the sound of the Skye Boat Song being piped out of bagpipes and the smell of mulled wine and rain. And the only people in the room being me and the man standing at the top of the isle waiting.

::1:: Aged 26. After the mayhem of the wedding and the lead up to it, after the long haul flight was over and the never ending boat journey completed, after almost two weeks in secluded Maldievien paradise enjoying each other and the view, and the ocean and its inhabitants. After all that we sat in a restaurant on stilts out over the sea, half a mile out from the island, we drank the coldest crispest dry white wine and ate the most gourmet pizza ever and gazed out at black ocean, down at the glowing green night fish and up at an endless map of stars. Just the two of us.

Oh, by the way, the guy in number 4? He's now my husband. Life works out well doesn�t it?


previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com