*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

April 28, 2004 - 12:05 pm

Touching the Void

The problem with having thick and unruly hair is that you can carefully wash and condition it with specially formulated anti frizz shampoo, you can blow dry it straight, you can add some straightening serum, you can whip out your super-duper very expensive ceramic hair straighteners and spend half an hour ironing every strand of hair, you can mist your finished do with a small amount of very expensive defrizz hairspray to hold it all in place and, then, you step outside and in a second have a mop of frizzy tangled straw atop your head. You just can�t win.

I am considering renewing my gold membership once more, just so I can post pictures of my rubbish hair, so you�ll see what I have to deal with on a daily basis.

*sigh*

I now have six official days at work left, not including today. And still they pile more and more work onto me so that I can�t get anything nice and in order for when I leave. (Hence me sitting here wasting time on a diary entry rather than typing up the minutes from yesterday afternoon�s management meeting). God, I just want to leave now, I am so fed up with having zero motivation. It�s soul sucking.

I finished Touching the Void yesterday, I read it in two days, it�s an incredible story. I�d recommend it to anyone. I went three stops in the wrong direction on the Piccadilly line last night and didn�t notice, I was that engrossed. Basically there�s these two blokes who decide to climb some unclimbable mountain in the middle of nowhere in Peru. They are nowhere near any�thing. There are no villages, no rescue services, no help, just this big piss-off mountain and two crazy-head English blokes, Joe and Simon, looking for a challenge. And a challenge they do get. They spent something like three days getting to the top and then Joe breaks his leg on the way back down. They then struggle on down the mountain using a sort of belaying method where Simon attached Joe to a rope and lowered him 700 feet at a time at breakneck speed through great flutes of snow (forgive me any inaccuracies here). They made it thousands of feet down then Joe plunges off the edge of a crevasse and is pulling Simon with him. In the end Simon either has to fall into the void with Joe and they both die, or Simon has to cut the rope and save at least himself. He cuts the rope. And that�s just the beginning of the story. I couldn�t put the book down, even though you know they survive (it�s Joe writing the book) you just can�t stop reading to find out how on Earth he managed it. Wow.

So, yeah, go read Touching the Void, tell WH Smith�s I sent you.

Back to writing minutes then�

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com