*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

April 23, 2004 - 4:18 pm

India

Hot Wax baby!

I never knew that having a bikini wax could end up being such a hilarious night of stupidity. With the hot waxing over (mine was a simple straight forward waxing experience, you�ll have to ask Rica for her story, if I wrote it here you�d think I was making it up, and it would leave her with very little dignity remaining. But make sure you head over to her place and leave messages demanding to read about her experience with a mad Brazilian lady, a pot of hot wax and some paper knickers�) Anyway, where was I? Oh yeah�with the waxing experience behind us we headed off to Auberge for a few glasses of wine. This quickly turned into a night of wine, food and general ridiculousness.

We decided to �conduct a survey� of friendliness in London. The results were this � everyone who was friendly and responded to our greetings of �hello� and �good evening� were not from London. We stopped for a long chat with a couple of Americans, a few Indians, Ali in the tobacco shop was very pleasant indeed, we talked to a couple of bouncers on the doors of nightclubs � we met people from Manchester, Tobago and Pakistan. Not one Londoner said hello. Though I�m not entirely sure I�d say hello to a couple of half cut numpties running down Oxford Street giggling like idiots. Hey ho.

Two of the people we met during the course of our research were an American and a Russian girl looking for somewhere to eat � we ended up all going for pizza together in Soho. Sheer madness but a whole lot of fun. I have never invited complete strangers to dine with me before and it was a great experience. We chatted and chatted about our birthplaces (Russia, England, Minnesota and New York) and drank a few glasses of wine before heading off home.

It was a night of firsts for the pair of us, and a whole lot of fun. Though I was in trouble with Mr D this morning for rolling home so late in an advanced state of inebriation and falling asleep fully clothed on the sofa. Ah well. It has to be done every now and then! An alcohol free night tonight I think. No alcohol, long hot bath, dinner cooked by Mr D and then an early night.

India

There has been very much an Indian theme to my day today. I have been teaching myself the art of henna for a couple of years now. Actually I started drawing meaningless patterns and intricate designs when I was young � to while away the hours sitting on aeroplanes etc. It wasn�t until I had to arrange for a henna tattooist to attend a Fun Day and looked at her website that I realised the patterns I had been absent mindedly doodling all my life were basically the designs used in Mehndi. I became fascinated and bought some henna and some application tools and began practising. Of course I was completely rubbish and just ended up making a brown gooey mess but with time, and reading, I learnt how to apply the same patterns I drew in pencil to hands and feet using henna paste. Now I can�t get enough of it and I have spent a lot of today reading more about it online. I have bought a paper lantern for our bedroom and I want to decorate it with henna. I�m going to try it tonight.

It just so happens that today we had a gorgeous Indian/Iranian biryani for lunch in our office. There was vats left over from a meeting last night, biryani and dhal. GORGEOUS. All you could hear over lunchtime was the scraping of forks on plates and a lot of satisfied murmurings across the sea of desks.

AND I also used the vouchers I got from my mum for my birthday to buy a spectacular Indian cook book, but it also has recipes from all over the world � South Africa, Morocco etc. Each recipe is accompanied by a bit of history or a story. It�s fascinating.

So, with that pointless little diversion into my artistic preferences I shall leave you to your weekends. Enjoy and have a good one.

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com