*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

April 19, 2004 - 2:18 pm

Here's a bottle and an honest friend! What wad ye wish for mair, man?

Today is my birthday.

I am 27 years old.

So beware the navel gazing about to commence�

Before I get all introspective as I gain another year I should start with the really important thing � what presents have I received so far?

From Mr D:

- Super duper expensive and fabulous GHG hair straighteners. These things are incredible, all you have to do is look at them and your hair falls in shiny straight locks.

- Yellow PJs (my favourite colour) with �The Boss� written on them in sparkly letters.

- More stuff to come tonight apparently � eeee! Very excited.

From my daft little sister:

- A tiny furry monkey on a keychain called Dermot

- Some luxury bath stuff that I wanted from Boots. It�s called �Mande Lular�. Repeat after me mande lulaaaar. Just saying those two words has to make you smile. Say them with a silly voice, go on.

- A crazy card with George from rainbow on the front. When it�s opened George sings happy birthday. It is truly marvellous.

From my Mum:

- A gorgeous white and brown print halter neck dress from Oasis

- �30 worth of gift vouchers for WH Smith so I can buy the Touching the Void book and DVD.

- Seven or eight bath bombs from Lush. One of which smells precisely like fresh cut grass. My god it is unbelievable � I will never use it! I shall just sniff it forever.

- Opal and silver earrings.

- A bottle of Harvey�s Bristol Cream. Don�t laugh. I may not be 80 years old just yet but I am rather partial to a drop of sherry every now and then�oh shut up, I didn�t expect any of you to understand�hurumph.

- A chocolate cake.

- A tacky novelty fridge magnet from Paris (don�t ask, just don�t�)

- A card that has a little dancing person inside that dances to the Nolan Sisters� I�m In The Mood For Dancing.

From my Dad:

- �200 transferred directly into my bank account.

From my work:

- a bright pink card that sings Happy Birthday. (There seems to be a novelty singing card theme emerging here�)

- a mini birthday cake

- a pot of daffodils

So far so good!

27 looks more mature than 26 when written down. Don�t you think?

And it is for precisely that reason that I have decided to become more mature myself. Now I am officially a late-twenty-something, rather than early or mid, I feel it is time to install a few adult changes to my life and lifestyle.

First off is my health! I have allowed my health to deteriorate quite badly since December. The post-wedding come down and associated blues have led me to drink more than I ought, to go out more than I should, to spend more than I�ve got and to exercise less than is good. So! Less drink, less partying, more saving and more exercise.

It is also time for me to address the very nature of myself. I am, among many other things:

* Highly strung

* Worriful

* Manic

* Stupid

* High maintenance

* Depressive

* Hyper active

* Over emotional

* Self depreciating

* Lethargic

* Paranoid

* Over sensitive

To name but a few.

I am contradictory, I don�t make sense, and I am muddled. It is time to unmuddle myself and get back on track.

How?

Hmm. Toughie. There are certain things I can never change � I will always be a worrier, I was born that way, my grandmother was the same way, my father even worse. So worriful can stay � but how I handle it must change. So � meditation. I have been reading up on its benefits, and I have always been interested in the principles of Buddhism. So as of tomorrow I am going to start learning how to meditate in order to be calmer and handle problems better. But I ain�t gonna chant, you won�t ever catch me in the lotus position and there will be no shrines, bells or whale music.

I also need to learn not to sweat the small stuff. To not over react at the small things � like getting cut up by some twat in a white van on the A12. Just take a deep breath and take it in my stride. It�s going to be hard but I shall train myself to take a deep breath before speaking, to count to ten before losing my rag.

Onto health and exercise. God, this is the depressing bit. I am now officially a size 14 (that�s a size 12 in America I think). This is not good. But it is all my own doing, for example in the last hour I have eaten two chocolate coated marshmallows and one chocolate chip cookie *looks at wobbly belly* But then it is my birthday and I can eat what I want. But anyway, it�s time to get sensible � fruit, exercise, vegetable stir-frys and steamed carrots, lots of water and herbal tea, vitamins and dry body brushing. Time to say farewell to eleven stone and get back down to ten.

I also need to, and want to, cut down badly on my alcohol intake. It isn�t doing my body any good whatsoever. And Mr D and I want children in the next couple of years, and babies aren�t going to want to live in the stomach equivalent of a brewery. So I need to be more of an adult as far as boozing goes.

Which brings me onto money. I need to save! I need to pay off credit cards! I need to get rid of loans! And I will, over the next three years as I skid my way down the slippery slope to 30 I am going to take control of my finances, so by the time I hit 30 I�ll have some money to celebrate in style (St Lucia looks nice�)

So there we go. My birthday resolutions. By this time next year I�ll thinner, more successful, healthier, happier and richer. Sounds good to me.

Tonight we party in the Interval Bar!! Tomorrow we throw up.

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com