*

*

*





Forwarding Address
August 03, 2005

28 years-old
April 19, 2005

human...
April 17, 2005

Pancreatitis
April 14, 2005

Depressed
April 13, 2005


The current mood of aliwalidoodah at www.imood.com

October 24, 2003 - 5:14 pm

Dream Dress

Okay, I am back on Planet Normal for now.

Clair dragged me off to Monsoon last night to solve my dress crisis. She is a very efficient human being is Clair. �Right� she says� I�ll meet you at 5.30pm, we�ll have a browse� I nod �From there we will go to the record shop on Tottenham Court Road to get what you need from there� I nod �Then, and only then will we depart the Tottenham Court Road for Oxford Street, no later than 7pm, where you vill try on ze dresses!� She said as she turned slowly into Hitler�.

I�m just kidding of course, but she whipped my miserable arse into shape and got me into the changing rooms.

And there, in Monsoon Oxford Street on a cold and breezey Winter�s evening (just setting the scene darlings) I was zipped into my wedding dress. And it is PERFECT.

My original dress was two piece � skirt and bodice. The skirt was fine but it was the bodice causing me problems. I found a new bodice � a perfect match for the skirt and everything I could ask for. It fits like a glove, makes me feel like a bride and will need no alterations at all. So I have changed my wedding dress for only �100. And for a further �65 I got myself a silk beaded stole, ivory and shimmering with tiny beads.

You are reading the diary of one happy bride-to-be!

In other news:

At 4pm today Concorde made its last landing at Heathrow. At last working directly under the Heathrow flight-path has paid off!

We bought some cakes to add a sense of occasion and all climbed outside onto our balcony thinking what a great idea we had! Then we looked about us and saw we weren�t quite the only ones, people were scattered on balconies and fire escapes all across the rooftops.

It was a perfect sunny afternoon, even if it was freezing, and we all scanned the skies for any sign of activity. There were quite a few hovering helicopters about and then someone pointed and everyone looked, and soon everyone was pointing at the small sharp line in the distance against the clouds.

It was quite clearly going the wrong way. How embarrassing, on the last voyage concorde was going back to East London. Then somebody pointed out it was probably banking, or doing a lap of honour around London. Ah.

Two minutes later (�cos it�s dead fast) it swung round the side of our building and started the last part of its descent. We probably had one of the best views in London as it flew over our heads and into the distance leaving a roaring sound behind it.

Some people waved, others clapped and cheered, then we stood around drinking our tea. Then all of a sudden another one! And then another! Of course, dur, there are three to ground!

As the last of the three made its final descent into the setting sun people clapped and commented on how sad it was. It�s sad we can�t afford to run something so great like that anymore. But it�ll probably be dusted off at every royal function for fly-overs etc. from now on I should imagine. It was really great to watch.

I took pictures with my mobile phone, but concorde can�t even be seen! It looks like a tiny distant speck in the sky but I assure you it was right there *points out office window* and was really close! We could even see the wheels!

Once Vodafone gets its arse in gear and sorts out its usual picture messaging problems I shall post them on here for you to laugh at.

So have a good weekend one and all, and remember life�s too short to drink bad wine.

previous - next

guestbook - profile - notes - older - newest


| * * | lemonsparkle 2004 | * * |
www.diaryland.com


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com